Newsbank Archive
October 25, 2014

A RAISIN IN THE SUN at PlayMaker's Repertory Company

posted by PlayMakersRep

When:

7:30 PM - 11:59 PM
Saturday, January 26
7:30 PM
Tuesday, January 29
7:30 PM
Thursday, January 31
2:00 PM
Saturday, February 2
2:00 PM
Sunday, February 3
7:30 PM
Tuesday, February 5
7:30 PM
Wednesday, February 6
7:30 PM
Thursday, February 7
7:30 PM
Friday, February 8
7:30 PM
Saturday, February 9
2:00 PM
Saturday, February 9
7:30 PM
Wednesday, February 13
7:30 PM
Friday, February 15
7:30 PM
Saturday, February 16
2:00 PM
Sunday, February 17
7:30 PM
Tuesday, February 19
2:00 PM
Saturday, February 23
7:30 PM
Wednesday, February 27
2:00 PM
Saturday, March 2

Where:

Center for Dramatic Art at UNC, 250 Country Club Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27514

Description:

Debuting in 1959 and nominated for multiple Tony Awards, A Raisin in the Sun was the first play written by a black woman to be produced on Broadway, The New York Times proclaimed that it “changed American theater forever.”

In this groundbreaking drama proceeds from a life insurance policy give the Younger family hope for a better life. Can their “dreams deferred” be realized by moving into a home in an all-white neighborhood when they are confronted with conflicting desires within the family and racial prejudice outside their door?

“a tough and truthful drama” – Time Magazine

 A Raisin in the Sun will be performed in rotating rep with Bruce Norris' Clybourne Park.

Details:

$15.00 -$55.00
9199627529
Local Offers
Sign Up to receive Local Deals
Sign Up to receive Breaking News
Featured businesses
Most Read Stories

Indians done in by Banks by Greg Finan, Jr.

LCHS makes strides on road to region by Greg Finan, Jr.

Cheer team improves by Greg Finan, Jr.